Author Topic: Class Sequencing and Structure for INSTRUCTORS  (Read 437 times)

Rana

Class Sequencing and Structure for INSTRUCTORS
« on: June 20, 2017, 06:31:13 am »
Hello,
I hope this thread will attract some people, especially instructors. I'm a flexibility instructor at a pole and aerial studio, and as much as I need more knowledge and more content for my classes where we go into deep stretches and poses, I have big problem with this program and can't seem to find any information about my topic in question.

I think there should be a section in this course about how to structure a flexibility class and how to include the stretches in your classes. I've tried to add some of these stretches in my classes but I find so many students struggling with the leverage and target technique and most students apply the leverage incorrectly. Moreover, I find it very impractical to use these techniques in a class with 15 students. I find these techniques to be good for private one-on-one instruction and some kind of session where you can take your time but how does it work for bigger classes where no one easily understands the technique. As someone who has studied the technique, I understand it but my students don't.

Don't get me wrong. The knowledge in this certification and techniques in it are really amazing and it has helped me personally to go much deeper into my stretches. I just find it super hard and impractical to use in classes and now that I've taken my certification, I was a bit disappointed because I'm totally lost as to how to use it in classes, and I now find it useless to me. I'm sure there's a way to use it but I just don't know how to

So my question is:
How do I incorporate these stretches and this technique into my classes in a way that is practical and that all students can understand?